Research Grants & Awards

Batzdorf Scholar Award

Awarded in honor of Ulrich Batzdorf, MD, by the Ulrich Batzdorf Honor Your Mentor Fund, to provide funding for residents/fellows to attend the Joint Section Spine Conference (Spine Summit) to present a high-quality, impactful research abstract related to Chiari, syrinx, or CSF flow-related studies.


Coming Soon


Two separate awards of $1,000 each


Submit abstract via Spine Summit abstract center, designate “Batzdorf Scholar Award” upon abstract submission.

Benefits of Membership

“The AANS/CNS Spine Section brings together neurosurgeons, orthopedic spine surgeons, spine surgery fellows, as well as residents and advanced practice providers focused on spinal surgery. The Spine Section advances our interests, represents us in national advocacy, and disseminates science. Becoming a member means joining this exceptional community and helping it grow.” ...Read More >